jump to navigation

Working on the road February 24, 2009

Posted by Mike in End User Computing.
trackback

I recently had to bring my car in for some well overdue service. In the past, one would find themselves in that dreaded waiting room consisting of a TV stuck on one channel and no volume, a table filled with outdated magazines that you don’t have any interest in anyway,  and a coffee pot that hasn’t been washed since Reagan left office. 

Fortunately things were completely different for me at Morristown Mini. Their waiting room has work desks, and most importantly a secure wifi connection!! OK, so it’s not the fastest connection, and there could be more outlets, but although I was there for over 6 hours, I was able to finish an eZine article, write a blog article, catch up on some research for an upcoming project and even get some networking done! In addition, comfortable cushion chairs & the flatscreen TV on the wall were there if I wanted to watch almost anything I wanted. Although they will be moving to a new location soon, it was a very pleasant & productive experience for me. I can’t wait to see what the new place is like! Good luck Mike, Fred & Vinny.

So what does one need to be productive on the road? It really depends on what you do, but in my case the most important item was an internet connection (wifi). My macbook pro has a built in wireless network card, as do most computers sold today. The dealer gives you a temporary login & password, good for 24 hours. To connect, you choose the appropriate wifi carrier (MINI-Wifi) and simply open your browser. It will reroute you from your default home page to a greeting page provided by the carrier. From there, you enter the assigned login & password you were assigned. Within a click of your mouse, you’re connected to the internet, just as you would be from your home or office and can be just as productive.

